Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Scroll to top


No Comments

Sarah Bennetto: All My Life's Mistakes, Catalogued (Volume One) 4**** - One4Review

Sarah Bennetto: All My Life’s Mistakes, Catalogued (Volume One) 4****

| On 18, Aug 2017

Sarah Bennetto is lovely, and delivers a lovely show. It contains the stories of fifty mistakes she has made in her life, dealing with twenty-seven of them in a one-er with much glee, delight, and wonderfully evocative imagery. I’m sorry to have missed her arrival at Edinburgh Waverley pre-Fringe.

While the mistakes are numbered, and listed on a clipboard, they aren’t recounted in strict numerical order. There isn’t necessarily any link between the mistakes, and the nature of the mistake and the accompanying story varies, so the pace and level of frivolity also keeps changing, keeping the show dynamic and interesting. Frivolity is utter silenced by the last mistake however, and it was totally unexpected and unheralded – and all the more powerful for being so.

You know you’re on to something good when the ad-libbing makes the tech laugh. Sarah is an excellent performer, frank and genuine, telling relatable stories which are fun and funny. Ms Bennetto, despite the bunker and the venue challenges, is something good.

Laughing Horse @ Espionage, 19:30

Reviewed by Laura

Submit a Comment