Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Scroll to top


No Comments

Amused Moose Comedy Awards Grand Final 2016 5***** - One4Review

Amused Moose Comedy Awards Grand Final 2016 5*****

| On 26, Aug 2016

There were around 120 performers who initially entered their 2016 shows into this prestigious competition by submitting a videoed performance which was watched on line by a panel of ‘industry’, to whittle them down to a manageable long list. From there the judges watched all the shows live in Edinburgh and arrived at the top ten for the final.
Each act was then tasked with performing 10 minutes of their show in front of an audience or punters and the panel who all had the chance to vote for the winner. The ten finalists were
Eric Lampaert: Alien of Extraordinary Ability,
Flo & Joan: Victory Flaps,
James Loveridge: Castles in the Sand,
John Robertson: Arena Spectacular!
Larry Dean: Farcissist,
Laura Lexx: Tyrannosaurus Lexx ,
Neal Portenza. Neal Portenza. Neal Portenza. Tracey,
Pippa Evans: Same Same but Different,
Sleeping Trees: Sci-Fi?,
Tom Ballard – The World Keeps Happening,
Under the stewardship of Ian Smith who was compere of the final, battle commenced and each act did themselves justice and then some. With such a diverse selection of the styles it was a really good snapshot of the up and comings of the comedy world but it did make judging extremely difficult.
Once all performers had done their best and the votes had been collated and ratified there emerged a clear winner, Larry Dean and a runner up Neil Portenza, each of which received a shiny moose trophy presented to them by Fringe CEO Shona McCarthy.
The audience were treated to a fine three hours plus of entertainment and the whole production put together by Amused Moose guru Hils Jago and her dedicated Moose crew was a unmitigated success.
I doubt there is a better value show on the Fringe, just a pity it is an annual one off event.
Reviewed by Geoff

Submit a Comment